Politicians Announce Winner of Christmas Card Competition

xmascard finalists

THE winner of a popular Christmas card competition run by local politicians Mark Tami MP and Carl Sargeant AM was announced at a special ceremony today.

Pupils at every infant, junior and primary school are invited to come up with their best card designs every year.

The winning design is made into a Christmas card and sent to local businesses, volunteer groups and politicians, including First Minister Carwyn Jones.

The 2013 winner was Ellie Windel, from Mountain Lane Primary School in Buckley.  In second place was Morgan Jones, from Golftyn Primary School and Mia Primrose, from Venerable Edward Morgan School, was third.

Carl said: “As ever, it was really difficult for us to choose the winner and Ellie and the other finalists should be very proud of themselves.  We have some true artists in the making here in Alyn and Deeside.”

Mark added: “I would like to congratulate Ellie Windel on her winning design. The standard was very high this year but her design was full of festive cheer.

“I would also like to thank the companies that sponsored the competition – Toyota, Edwards Homes, Coleg Cambria and UPM Shotton.”

Other school finalists were Emily Coopman, Afon Fewster Jones, Joely Edwards, Chloe Coles, Kate Nickson, Lydia Hollins, Amy Corlett, Ruby Harvey, Tom Williams, Jason Higham Williams, Scarlett McDonagh, Jessica Allen, Toni Cruse and Jade Dunn.

All the winners were presented with a framed copy of their design and a prize at a special ceremony at Toyota, Deeside.